Can I flash my gun because I don’t need a permit now?
Florida is the 26th state where permitless concealed carry is legal. House Bill 543, also known as “permitless carry”, became law as of July 1st of this year. In a nutshell, this bill eliminates the requirement for a concealed firearm or weapons license. This legislation now makes it legal for a person to carry a concealed weapon publicly without a concealed weapons license.
Florida statute 790.06 defines the term of a concealed weapon or concealed firearm. According to the statute, “a concealed weapon or concealed firearm means a handgun, electric weapon or device, tear gas gun, knife, or billie, but does not include a machine gun.”
While you no longer need to obtain a concealed weapon/firearm license, you still must abide by regulations.
A Sample Of These Regulations Include:
1. You must carry a “read ID” such as your driver’s license with you at all times
2. If a law enforcement officer requests your ID, then you must present it to them
3. The firearm/weapon must be concealed at ALL times
4. Permitless carry is NOT open carry (exceptions are made if you are actively engaged in fishing, hunting, camping, or target shooting or traveling to and from one of these activities
5. You must be 21 years or older
6. Must be a resident and citizen of the USA or hold a permanent resident status
7. You may not carry concealed if you are convicted of a felony
8. If you suffer from a physical infirmity that prevents the safe use of a weapon then you may not carry concealed
9. If you have been committed to a mental health institution then you cannot carry a concealed
Along with the above requirements, there are also locations where you cannot carry a concealed weapon/firearm.
A Few Of These Locations Include:
2. Colleges or Universities
4. Government Meetings
6. Any police, sheriff, or highway patrol station
7. A polling location
8. A detention facility, jail, or prison
9. A passenger terminal/sterile area of an airport. Travelers still must transport firearms in a locked hard side container in checked baggage.
10. Where a private property owner or business has prohibited it
You Also May Not Carry A Concealed Weapon If You Have A:
1. Felony conviction
2. History of mental illness
3. Have a domestic violence related misdemeanor conviction
4. Have a dishonorable discharge from the military
While you no longer need a concealed weapons/firearms permit, you can still obtain or renew a permit. A permit does have benefits since it provides training, includes reciprocity in other states that recognize Florida’s concealed weapons permit, and grants the ability to purchase and take delivery of a firearm on the same day instead of waiting three days.
If you violate the concealed permitless carry law, you can face charges. The charges will vary as well as the punishments based on the situation. Charges could result in a misdemeanor or a felony. Penalties could include fines, jail time, or loss of rights.
Central Florida Bonding serves all of Central Florida including Orange, Seminole, Osceola, Lake, and Volusia Counties. We offer confidential and stress-free bail bonds for defendants. Our bail bond agency has an agent available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days of the year.
If you are facing charges and need a bail bond agency, please call us at 407-841-3646 to start the bail bond process. Don’t go it alone, instead call us. We’re here to help!