Don’t let a sobriety checkpoint ruin your July Fourth fun
It is important to understand the kinds of charges you could face if you violate boating and road laws.
Speed Traffic Citations And Penalties in FloridaThe easiest one is speeding, a quick refresher from your driver’s education courses: the giant white signs on the side of the road indicate the maximum speed and anything over could result in a moving violation.
Driving Under The Influence Laws And Penalties in FloridaAccording to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, Driving Under the Influence (DUI) is not limited to alcoholic beverages, it includes chemical substances and controlled substances and anything that impairs normal faculties.
The blood alcohol or breath alcohol level of .08 or above could result in a fine of $500 to $1,000 for the first offense. If you have a higher alcohol level than .15 you could be facing between $1,000 and $2,000 for a first offense. First-time offenders are typically charged with a misdemeanor but if the DUI resulted in injury or death to another person penalties can include jail time, fines, license suspension, impoundment, and mandatory counseling.
Boating Under The Influence Laws And Penalties in FloridaBoating under the influence (BUI) is very similar to DUI only on a boat. Just like on the road, Florida law prohibits operating a vessel under the influence of drugs or alcohol. In this case, a vessel is defined as all “watercraft, barge, and airboat, other than a seaplane on the water, used or capable of being used as a means of transportation on water.” Think of this as boating under the influence or a DUI on a boat. The penalties for drunk boating offenses depend on several factors, including whether the offender was driving a boat, had someone under the age of 18 in the boat, were involved in an accident or death. First-time boating under the influence offenses are second-degree misdemeanors. BUI penalties and BUI fines range between $500 to $1,000 and a maximum of six months in jail. If convicted of BUI charges, judges are required to sentence first offenders to probation. Boating under the influence penalties for second and third offenses are more severe.
We’re here to helpIf you or a loved one finds themselves behind bars and facing charges of driving with a suspended license, DUI, BUI, reckless driving, or any other charge, please call us at 407-841-3646 to start the bail bond process.
We are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and 365 days of the year. An experienced and knowledgeable bail bond agent is readily available to assist you. Being arrested and in jail can be an unnerving experience. Don’t go it alone. Rely on our bail bond agents to walk you through the bail bond process. All of our bail bond agents can assist you with paperwork, and answer questions that you may have about the criminal justice system. We have been serving Central Florida since 1979. Rely on our experience and knowledge to help you through this trying time.
We serve all of Central Florida including Orange, Seminole, Osceola, Lake, Volusia, and Brevard counties. Your neighbors have relied on us, you can too. Please call us at 407-841-3646 to start the bail bond process.