What Is Impaired Driving?
If you are arrested for drunk driving or impaired driving, you may face serious consequences including jail time and fines.
In the state of Florida, impaired driving is, “impaired driving is defined as driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol and/or legal (prescription and over-the-counter) and/or illegal drugs. In Florida, impaired driving is involved in about one-quarter of all motor vehicle deaths.”
This means you could face DUI charges after taking an over-the-counter medicine. Many OTC medications and prescription medications have side effects that include slower reaction times, decreased hand-eye coordination, difficulty concentrating or judging time and distance and other impairments that are similar to the effects of alcohol and illegal drugs.
Medications often include warning labels but if you aren’t certain, you can ask your doctor or pharmacist about potential side effects.
Law enforcement officers are trained as drug recognition experts (DREs) to identify drug-impaired driving using a standardized evaluation that includes behavioral tests and physical assessments, such as breath alcohol testing, eye exams and other behavioral and physical observations.
If there is sufficient evidence that the driver is impaired, DREs can collect blood or urine samples. Refusing to take a required roadside test at the time of arrest means your license will be automatically suspended for one full year.
After being arrested for DUI, you may receive a citation with instructions on how to complete the process. You must appear in court within 30 days of receiving the citation. If you fail to do so, you will be issued another citation and your license will be suspended until you pay the fine.
In Florida, your driver’s license will be revoked for a minimum of 180 days if you are convicted of a DUI. The suspension isn’t the only penalty you’ll face if you’re convicted of a DUI. The fines range between $500 to $5,000 and include mandatory DUI school education. You could also face the potential of an ignition interlock device, community service, probation or imprisonment. Furthermore, DUI convictions remain on your record for 75 years.
We're Here To Help
If you or a loved one finds themselves behind bars and facing charges of speeding in a school zone, driving with a suspended license, DUI, BUI, reckless driving, domestic violence, child neglect, or any other charge, please call us at 407-841-3646 to start the bail bond process.
We are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and 365 days of the year. An experienced and knowledgeable bail bond agent is readily available to assist you. Being arrested and in jail can be an unnerving experience. Don’t go it alone. Rely on our bail bond agents to walk you through the bail bond process. All of our bail bond agents can assist you with paperwork, and answer questions that you may have about the criminal justice system. We have been serving Central Florida since 1979. Rely on our experience and knowledge to help you through this trying time.
We serve all of Central Florida including Orange, Seminole, Osceola, Lake, Volusia, and Brevard counties. Your neighbors have relied on us, you can too. Please call us at 407-841-3646 or check out our frequently asked questions on our website.